MTN SAMA - Vote now!


Arno Carstens
Voting of another kind is also feverishly underway this week with the music industry’s much anticipated flagship awards ceremony only a few sleeps away, the rush to vote for the ultimate MTN SAMA 17 Record of the Year is also on. The 17th annual MTN South African Music Awards take place this weekend on the 20th and 21st of May 2011 at Montecasino, leaving little time for music lovers to choose the most Ayoba record of them all.
“The MTN Record of the Year category can only be decided by the public and we call on every music fan to show their passion for local music by voting for their favourite artist whom they think had the biggest record,” says Hazel Chimhandamba, MTN SA Manager: Music & Lifestyle Sponsorships. “We currently have 20 nominations in the category and based on the number of votes per artist, an independent audit firm has been appointed to oversee the shortlisting down to five on Thursday 19 April. So we encourage music fans to ensure that their favourite artists make the shortlist ahead of the Top 5 shortlist deadline on Thursday afternoon at 17:00.”
MTN has just concluded national roadshows to promote the MTN SAMA Record of the Year in Mpumalanga, Limpopo, KwaZulu-Natal and Gauteng. The roadshows were supported by performances by some of the MTN SAMA nominees, including Zakes Bantwini, Liquideep and Professor, amongst various other local artists. MTN gave away loads of prizes, including airtime and hampers. A major part of the roadshows was to show how to cast their votes and how to access fantastic MTN SAMA 17 downloads such as songs or wallpapers and stand a chance to win a VIP experience to attend MTN SAMA 17.
“This is the only award where the power rests with the music-loving public of South Africa to decide where the MTN SAMA statuette will go to,” concludes Chimhandamba. It is easy to vote for your favourite artist. Simply SMS the code of your favourite artist to 083 123 7262 to give the award to the most deserving artist according to you:
(Code) A - Alone -  Liquideep
B - Breathing - Prime Circle
C - Bum Bum - Zakes Bantwini
D - Dreamer - Arno Carstens
E - Fire Is Low - Freshly Ground
F - Get Busy Living - Goldfish
G - Hobie Beach - Kinky Robot
H - Imoto - Professor
I - Let’s get this party jumping - Jozi
J - Lovesick - The Arrows
K - Love You Better (w/ Rue-Groove) - Crazy White Boy
L - Mama (w/ Ringo) - Black Coffee
M - Ngisemthanda (w/ Joocy, DJ Tira & Dr Duda) - DJ CNDO
N - Potoko (w/ Juice Matute) - DJ Mahoota
O - Show Dem (w/ HHP) - JR
P - Turn Up The Volume - Auriol Hays
Q - Twisted - Crash Car Burn
R - Warrior - Louise Carver
S - Woza - Jaziel Brothers
T - Wrong For You - Loyiso


  1. How do I enter the VIP experience for the 18th MTN SAMA Awards?
    It says on my phone a link, so I go, but I enter my phone number, then what is my Password?


Post a Comment