The MK Awards 2012 are here!

Van Coke Kartel
All music lovers, listen up! MK music channel has just announced the nominees for the MK Awards 2012, and it's SA's hottest acts that will go head to head in 11 categories where viewers votes determine who will walk away as winners on 23 March 2012 at the State Theatre in Pretoria. A new category added to this year's line up is the Best Indie category, with Ashtray Electric, the LA Els and Wrestlerish leading is this category. In the official announcement made on MK last night, aKING, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Shadowclub and Van Coke Kartel leading with three nominations each.
The full list of nominees is as follows:

Best Video
Jack Parow – Tussen Stasies
Locnville – Stars Above You
Die Heuwels Fantasties ft. Inge Beckmann – Modus Operandi
Spoek Mathambo – Control
Winterstasie – Los My

Best Newcomer
Bittereinder – Ware Verhaal
Shadowclub – Guns n Money
Moses Metro Man – Huigelaar
The Greame Watkins Project – Music Affair
Mr Cat & The Jackal – The Devil Always Wants To Dance

Best Group
Van Coke Kartel – Ondier Kom
Shadowclub – Good Morning Killer
Zebra & Giraffe – Undo These Lies
Die Heuwels Fantasties – Buitenste Ruim
Bittereinder ft. Tim Beumers – Slechte Mensen
aKING – Catch Alight

Best International Hit
Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man
Adele – Rolling In The Deep
LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem
Maroon 5 – Moves Like Jagger
Foo Fighters – Walk

Best SFX/ Animation
aKING – Catch Alight
Goldfish – We Come Together
Mr. Cat & The Jackal – Bad Man Comin
Die Heuwels Fantasties ft. Inge Beckman– Modus Operandi
Van Coke Kartel – Ondier Kom

Best Rock
Knave – Hollow Chamber
Van Coke Kartel – Vir Almal
Taxi Violence – Head Or Tails
Shadowclub – Guns n Money
Dead Alphabet – Eat You Alive

Best Indie
Ashtray Electric ft. Gazelle – Release
Yesterday’s Pupil – Too Tired To Disco
Dance, You’re On Fire – Boxes Of Tigers
The LA Els – Soulkiller
Wrestlerish – Bodies Of Water

Best Hipster
Fulka – Dancing In Our Darkest Days
Holiday Murray – Jirrey
Fire Through The Window – Lonely Hearts
Jack Parow – Byelville
Sedge Warbler – Paranormal Ox Man

Best Dance
PH Fat – The Big Five
Gazelle ft. Teba – Chic Afrique
Goodluck – Hop On Hop Off
Sedge Warbler – Paranormal Ox Man
Jax Panik – Get Up

Best Radio Hit
Kovsie FM – aKING / Catch Alight
Puk FM – Moses Metro Man / Huigelaar
Jacaranda FM – Elvis Blue / Lighthouse
MFM – Jax Panik / Dinosaur
Tuks FM – KONGOS / I’m Only Joking

You can vote for your favourites on the MK website, Facebook and MXit (via the MK Bot). Voting will close at midday on 1 March 2012.