CD REVIEW! Band Of Skulls - Sweet Sour

The first time we heard of the Band Of Skulls was on The Twilight Saga: New Moon soundtrack (November 2009) with the song Friends.  The song was only released as a Friends EP (mini disc). In 2011, the British rock trio also played South Africa  at Rocking The Daisies, and those who saw them, will agree, it was an brilliant set! Band of Skulls now release their highly anticipated second full-length CD Sweet Sour, which is packed with meaty, blues-tinged riffs and dual attack vocals from Russell Marsden and Emma Richardson. The band decamped to Wales Rockfield Studios, alongside producer Ian Davenport (Supergrass, Badly Drawn Boy) to record the album. Gritty rock & roll riffs are plentiful, while the mixing expertise of Nick Launay (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) adds raw firepower to Matt Hayward’s rolling drums.