MTV to honour international super star Beyoncé

MTV (DStv Channel 130) announced that global entertainer, singer-songwriter and philanthropist, Beyoncé will join an exclusive list of artists who have received the legendary “Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award” as this year’s recipient. Beyoncé, who leads the pack this year with eight VMA nominations, will also bring her unparalleled artistry to the 2014 “MTV Video Music Awards” as a performer at The Forum in Inglewood, California, on Sunday 24 August.   BEYONCÉ has previously delivered some of the most memorable performances in VMA history including the arresting and explosive “Ring the Alarm” in 2006, the anthemic “Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)” in 2009 and the unforgettable, surprise reveal during "Love On Top" in 2011.  BeyoncésS triumphant return to the MTV VMA stage marks her fourth time performing on the loudest, most influential annual live celebration of music in the world.  The 2014 “MTV Video Music Awards” premieres live on MTV on Monday 25 August at 03:00 CAT, with the primetime premiere on Monday 25 August at 21:00 CAT (red carpet show at 20:00 CAT). Beyoncé is continuously pushing and re-defining boundaries with her music and earlier this year, she raised the bar of innovation by unleashing her groundbreaking, self-titled visual album with 17 artistically captivating music videos from “Drunk in Love” to “Pretty Hurts”. As both a solo artist and as a member of one of the most beloved, chart-topping groups in history, Destiny’s Child, Beyoncé has won an astounding 11 “MTV Video Music Awards,” including “Video of the Year” in 2009 for “Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)” and  “Best Female” in 2007 for “Crazy in Love” ft. JAY Z. This year, she leads all nominees with eight nods including “Video of the Year,” “Best Female” and “Best Choreography.” Beyoncé will be presented with the highly coveted  “Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award” joining a prestigious list of past recipients including Michael Jackson, Madonna, Peter Gabriel, R.E.M., Beastie Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Britney Spears and Justin Timberlake.