Modest Mouse confirmed for Parklife!

947 is excited to announce Modest Mouse as the next International Headliner to join the line-up for the Parklife Gourmet Food and Music Festival in Johannesburg on Sunday the 3rd of May.
Jimmy Nevis

The local line-up sees the addition of PHFAT, The Kiffness, Jimmy Nevis, Gangs of Ballet, Monark, Connell Cruise, Jesse Clegg, Johnny Apple, Yorke and HouseHold Funk.

PARKLIFE GOURMET FOOD AND MUSIC FESTIVAL will also be hosted in Cape Town on Saturday 2nd of May, with the line-up already confirmed as Modest Mouse (US), American Authors (US), Klingande (France), KAHN, Jeremy Loops, PHFAT and Monark. Cape Town will play host to an incredible day of great food and top class live acts at the Ostrich Ranch.

Since their 1996 debut album, This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About, Modest Mouse’s lineup has centered on Brock, Green, and Judy. Guitarist Johnny Marr (formerly of The Smiths) joined the band in May 2006, along with percussionist Joe Plummer (formerly of The Black Heart Procession) and multi-instrumentalist Tom Peloso, to work on the album We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank. Guitarist Jim Fairchild joined the band in February 2009.

Modest Mouse will celebrate the release of their new album, ‘Strangers to Ourselves’ (Epic), with a performance on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon on March 17. The band has also confirmed headlining performances at both The Gasparilla Music Festival and Forecastle Festival. After surprising fans with the release of “Lampshades on Fire,” a song "as jittery and propulsive and nervous and weird as the best of Modest Mouse" (NPR Music), and a music video for “Coyotes” (both songs debuted at #1 on the Spotify Viral Chart), the band has released a third song, “The Best Room,” now available at all digital retailers.

The 15 new, original songs of ‘Strangers to Ourselves’ were recorded at Ice Cream Party in Portland, Oregon - a recording studio owned and operated by Isaac Brock. ‘Strangers to Ourselves' was produced by Isaac Brock with additional production by Andrew Weiss, Tucker Martine, Clay Jones, and Brian Deck. The album features founding drummer Jeremiah Green, and a wide cast of musical collaborators, including James Mercer, who returns to sing back-up vocals throughout the album, Tom Peloso, Jim Fairchild (Grandaddy), Dann Gallucci (The Cold War Kids), Russell Higbee (formerly of Man Man), Ben Massaralla (Red Red Meat), Lisa Molinaro (Talkdemonic), Davey Brozowski (The Catheters), and more.